The 5 Love Languages List (Find out how to love better!)

The 5 Love Languages List (Find out how to love better!)

Article Created:

Article Last Updated:

We all have a love language. It’s the way in which we best receive love from others. Getting to know someone elses love language will help you tuen in and build a health and strong relationship. Its really not that hard if you start to listen, open your eyes and take in data. You will soon be speaking your partners love language.

There are five love languages: words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical touch. We will take a deep dive into them all in this article.

The 5 Love Languages List.


An affirmation is a statement of love, praise, and encouragement. It can be verbal or written and is one of the five love languages that Dr. Gary Chapman discusses in his book “The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts.”

Receiving Gifts.

Giving or reciving a gift however big or small can be over the top for some however this may not be the case. It can be someones way of expressing love. A gift giver will enjoy watching their partner open their gift and all the joy it brings. A gift receiver will cherish their gift and know they are loved.

Act of Service.

Some people will see the act of service as their love language they will often fun errands for their partners, prepair them for the day, cook dinner for them, help them with assignments and many other services. If somone one is always doing something for you and never asks or puts up a fight its their way of showing love towards you.

Physical Touch.

The act of touching is universal in a relashionship but it can mean more to others – this isnt just about sex this is also about hugging, holding hands, being close to someone physically. If your partner is always touching you or trying to hold your hand then there love language is physical.

Quality Time.

Quality time is really important in all relashionships and we should always want to share moments with our loved ones or partners. Having said that some people like quality time more then most. It could be as simple as saying “we’re going for coffee this morning, just me and you” or “going for a short walk” or “taking a weekend away.” If your partner is constantly asking for you to spend time together, pay attention. This could be their love language.

How To Find Out Your Partner’s Love Language.

The five love languages are quality time, words of affirmation, physical touch, acts of service, and gift-giving. To find out your partner’s love language, pay attention to what they complain about the most.

For example, if your partner is always complaining about you not spending enough time with them, then their love language is probably quality time.

Another way to find out your partner’s love language is to ask them directly. Just be prepared to listen to their answer and be open to changing your behavior.

If you want to improve your relationship, then you need to start speaking your partner’s love language. You can use critical thinking to figure out what is really going on with your partner.

How To Find Your Own Love Language.

How can you identify your own love language? It’s really simple. Think about the five things you like most and list them out. Its ok to like all five and you may find yourself liking two or three just the same and thats ok as there are no hard and fast rules here. For me I like the phyical touch, I like being hugged, holding hands and making love thats my main one. My wifes love languge is acts of service she is always cooking me dinnger, cleaning up, dropping the kids off etc.

My love language list is as follows:

  1. Physical
  2. Act of service
  3. Quality Time
  4. Receiving Gifts.
  5. Affirmation.

How to Use the 5 Love Languages to Improve Your Relationship.

We all want to feel loved, but sometimes it’s difficult to express what we need from our partners. This is where the 5 Love Languages come in – they can help improve communication and make sure that both partners are getting what they need.

How to Use the 5 Love Languages list in Everyday Life.

If you’re like most people, you probably think of love as a feeling. While it’s true that love does involve emotion, it’s much more than that. In order to truly love someone, you need to understand and appreciate their love language.

We can use the 5 love langauge in many differnt ways, once you have picked up on your partners love langauge you can then start to do things for them. An example of an act of service is to clean the house, make them a meal, provide them with a day off from chores, or ask if there are any tasks you can do for them. You might be surprised.

What are the 5 Love Languages List? 

The 5 Love Languages are:

1. Words of Affirmation

2. Quality Time

3. Receiving Gifts

4. Acts of Service

5. Physical Touch  


The 5 Love Languages list is a tool that can be used to improve your relationship with your partner. It can help you to better understand their needs and how to meet them. It is also a way to express your own love language so that your partner can understand you better. Ultimately, using the 5 Love Languages can help to improve communication and make your relationship stronger.  

Phil Taylor
Phil Taylor Body Language Expert